Acceptable registrations in the queue through March 30 at 9:00a ET have now been activated. Enjoy! -M.W.

Terms of Use have been amended effective October 6, 2019. Make sure you are aware of the new rules! Please visit this thread for details: https://www.mibuzzboard.com/phpBB3/view ... 16&t=48619

Great Lakes Reception Maps

The technical side of broadcasting. Think IBOC is a sham? Talk about it here! How about HDTV? Post DX reports here as well.
cckadlec

Great Lakes Reception Maps

Post by cckadlec » Tue Apr 14, 2020 8:01 am

As part of my coastal propagation project I've been working on for the past 18 years, I've been wrapping things up with maps and articles based upon my data. This particular map shows the average reception distance of all stations heard at any given site, including the 80 scenic beach sites I've done radio work at.

To calculate this, I use simply averages that anyone would learn in math class. Add up all the distances of every signal received at a site and then divide by the total number of stations received at that site. Easy peasy. In fact, even when a handful of distant signals are subtracted or added to the list or conditions and stations are quite different from one day to the next for those sites I have multiple bandscans for, it usually affects the overall average very little. At my home site in Muskegon, I took numerous scans over time and despite differing conditions, the average was 94 miles for one scan, 95, or 98 for exceptional conditions, while at other sites in the Thumb, doing multiple scans only changed the average two or three miles (fairly negligible), so one could assume that the averages are quite accurate, surprisingly even.